Constance Baker Motley National Student Writing Competition

Deadline: 02/11/2018

Competition Website

“Something which we think is impossible now is not impossible in another decade.”—Constance Baker Motley

The American Constitution Society (ACS) and the University of Pennsylvania Law School ACS Chapter host an annualnational student writing competition in honor of Constance Baker Motley’s legacy. As a civil rights attorney, first woman elected President of the Borough of Manhattan, and the first African-American woman appointed to the federal bench, Motley’s life-long commitment to equality for all aligns with ACS’s mission to ensure that law is a force to improve the lives of all people. The deadline for the 2018 CBM competition is February 11, 2018.

ACS welcomes all student papers furthering and promoting a progressive vision of the Constitution, law, and public policy. Entrants are encouraged to view this topic broadly, and we welcome submissions on a variety of substantive areas. Examples of possible topics include:

  • Census Report
  • Civil Legal Aid
  • Civil Liberties
  • Constitutional Convention
  • Consumer Rights
  • Criminal Justice
  • Disability Rights
  • Freedom of Speech
  • Immigration
  • Indigent Defense
  • Money in Politics (including Judicial Elections)
  • Labor Law
  • LGBTQIA Rights
  • Privacy
  • Protection of Health, Safety, and the Environment
  • Racial Equality
  • Religion
  • Role of State Attorneys General
  • Second Amendment and Guns
  • Separation of Powers and Federalism
  • Women’s Reproductive Rights and Reproductive Freedom
  • Voting and Political Process
  • Whistleblower Protection

Papers were judged on the quality of their analysis and writing. The judging committee will include federal judges and leading academics. The student authors of the top three papers will receive special recognition at the ACS National Convention in the summer of 2018 and a cash prize for their work. The winner will be awarded $3,000. Each of the two runners-up will receive $1,000. The top paper would be eligible for publication in the University of Pennsylvania Journal of Constitutional Law.

Confirmed Judge Panel:

Prof. April Dawson, North Carolina Central University School of Law

Prof. Erin Delaney, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

Hon. David Lillehaug, Minnesota Supreme Court

Hon. Beverly B. Martin, US Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

Hon. Mary Rowland, US District Court for Northern District of Illinois

Prof. Ciara Torres-Spelliscy, Stetson University College of Law

Please review the 2018 Competition Theme & Submission Requirements before submitting your entry, which should be sent along with the 2018 Submission Form. An FAQ sheet on the CBM writing competition can be found here.

Bookmark the permalink.