Judge John R. Brown Award

Deadline: 08/21/2014

Competition Website

Judge John R. Brown Award

The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation
1177 West Loop South, Tenth Floor
Houston, Texas 77027

2015 Rules for the Brown Award of $10,000 for Excellence in Legal Writing

The Judge John R. Brown Scholarship Foundation is pleased to announce the twenty-second annual Brown Award. The Award is in recognition of Excellence in Legal Writingin American Law Schools. Any law student currently enrolled in an accredited law school in the United States seeking a J.D. or LL.B degree is eligible to submit a paper for the Award. This year the stipend for the winner is $10,000. The 2014 Award was presented to Leanne Welds of Brooklyn Law School for her paper, Giving Local Municipalities the Power to Affect the National Securities Market.

In order to be considered, two copies of a current legal writing must be submitted to the Foundation c/o Kenneth G. Engerrand, Brown Sims, P.C., Tenth Floor, 1177 West Loop South, Houston, Texas 77027-9007. The article must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from a law school faculty member or legal professional other than the author of the paper. Only one paper may be submitted on behalf of any student and only one paper may be sponsored by any faculty member or legal professional. The submission must be postmarked no later than August 21, 2015. The student’s package must contain a separate sheet containing the title of the paper; the name, physical address, telephone number, and email address of the student; and the name, title, physical address, and email address of the student’s sponsor. There is no page limitation or restriction on the topic except that the writing must be on a legal subject. The Foundation will appoint a final judging panel consisting of a law school dean, a federal judge, and a law school professor. The Foundation will not return any material submitted to the Foundation. The 2015 recipient of the Brown Award will be notified by December 16, 2015, and listed with the other finalists at the website www.brownsims.com/about-brown-sims/affiliations/judge-john-r-brown-award.

Results for the 2014 Brown Award for Excellence in Legal Writing:

Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 Brown Award for Excellence in Legal Writing:

First Place ($10,000):     Leanne Welds, Brooklyn Law School
Giving Local Municipalities the Power to Affect the National Securities Market

Second Place ($5,000):  Stephen Mayer, University of Michigan Law School
An Implausible Standard for Affirmative Defenses

Third Place ($3,000):      William Shotzbarger, Syracuse University College of Law
Business and Friendship Don’t Mix: The Government’s Expansion of Insider Trading Liability under SEC Rule 10b5-2

Finalist ($1,000):             Smith Monson, University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law
Creating Property Rights for Unsustainable Growth?: How Courts Should Treat Imported Water Return Flow in Utah Water Law

Finalist ($1,000):             Katherine Maddox Davis, Emory University School of Law
I, Too, Sing America: Customary International Law for American State and Federal Courts’ Post-Kiobel Jurisprudence

Bookmark the permalink.